Dem Bones

DemBones1DemBones2DemBones3

Off to the side in Gran’s kitchen is a hand stitched, plastic canvas calendar hanging on the door to the basement.

“See that calendar? I made it,” Gran reminds us daily.

“I was busy making Hancock’s calendars,” Marge retorts.

Marge, Gran’s sister, worked for Hancock Manufacturing for about 35 years, so she has trouble with her joints, particularly her knees. She’s also 85 years old, so there’s that too.

Gran, on the other hand, was a housewife for most of her life.

“I worked the 5 and 10!”

“For like one year in high school.”

Because of this, Gran  is quite agile and likes to show off her flexibility. I also attribute some of this to her mental age because the fact is that over 44 million people over the age of 50 have osteoporosis and arthritis is just a prevalent. What I did discover was that yoga can reduce symptoms of Alzheimer’s while improving flexibility.  For the rest of us, it can help reduce stress levels, especially if you are care giving for someone.

Gran’s already got the moves down. What’s stopping the rest of us?

Author: middlefingersoflove

I'm a grad student in the English Department at Kent State. I'm a busy gal: I teach at the university, accompany on the side, and care give for my grandmother. In my spare time (ha!) I enjoy traveling, creating, and the occasional run or swim.

Leave a Reply

