Here Kitty, Kitty

Here Kitty Kitty1Here Kitty Kitty 2Here Kitty Kitty 3Here Kitty Kitty 4

There’s this sweet female cat that hangs around my house that reminds me of a Maine Coon because of her long fur and tufts in her ears. Really, she’s probably too small to be a purebred Maine Coon, but she’s still adorable. She looks in the windows and upsets my cat Rizzo who thinks she is going to move in. I swear I haven’t tried to feed it–well, I left some cat food out one night, but an opossum came and ate it so that doesn’t count.

Watching my grandmother’s response to my pets led me to do a little research on the benefits of having animals around. Pets can provide great comfort to those suffering from dementia or Alzheimer’s. Therapy dogs can be used to assist the elderly in daily activities like walking and locating medications. Additionally,  interaction with therapy pets has shown to decrease symptoms of depression and anxiety in adults with dementia, even those people who aren’t necessarily animal lovers.

Me? I’ve always been an animal lover, so I won’t complain if Gran lets the stray cat in. Rizzo, might though.

Author: middlefingersoflove

I'm a grad student in the English Department at Kent State. I'm a busy gal: I teach at the university, accompany on the side, and care give for my grandmother. In my spare time (ha!) I enjoy traveling, creating, and the occasional run or swim.

Leave a Reply

